Закрыть
image description
Белорусский писатель Владимир Семенович Короткевич. Фото В. Ждановича. БЕЛТА
Беларускі пісьменнік Уладзімір Сямёнавіч Караткевіч. Фота В. Ждановіча.. БЕЛТА
Belarusian writer Vladimir Semenovich Korotkevich. Photo by V. Zhdanovich. BELTA
image description
Народный поэт Беларуси Максим Танк. Фото В. Лупейко. БЕЛТА
Народны паэт Беларусі Максім Танк. Фота У. Лупейкі. БЕЛТА
People's poet of Belarus Maxim Tank. Photo by V. Lupeyko. BELTA
image description
Народный писатель Беларуси Иван Шамякин. Фото М. Иванова. БЕЛТА
Народны пісьменнік Беларусі Іван Шамякін. Фота М. Іванова. БЕЛТА
People's Writer of Belarus Ivan Shamyakin. Photo by M. Ivanov. BELTA
image description
Народный писатель Беларуси Кондрат Крапива. Фото В. Лупейко. БЕЛТА
Народны пісьменнік Беларусі Кандрат Крапіва. Фота У. Лупейкі. БЕЛТА
People's Writer of Belarus Kondrat Krapiva. Photo by V. Lupeyko. BELTA
image description
Народный писатель Беларуси Василь Быков. Фото В. Шубы. БЕЛТА
Народны пісьменнік Беларусі Васіль Быкаў. Фота У. Шубы. БЕЛТА
People's Writer of Belarus Vasil Bykov. Photo by V. Shuba. BELTA
image description
Белорусский писатель Франтишек Богушевич. Фоторепродукция БЕЛТА
Беларускі пісьменнік Францішак Багушэвіч. Фотарэпрадукцыя БЕЛТА
Belarusian writer Frantisek Bogushevich. BELTA photo reproduction
image description
Народный поэт Беларуси Якуб Колас. Фото Р. Королева. БЕЛТА
Народны паэт Беларусі Якуб Колас. Фота Р. Каралёва. БЕЛТА
National poet of Belarus Yakub Kolas. Photo by R. Korolev. BELTA
image description
Народный поэт Беларуси Янка Купала. Фоторепродукция БЕЛТА
Народны паэт Беларусі Янка Купала. Фотарэпрадукцыя БЕЛТА
People's poet of Belarus Yanka Kupala. BELTA photo reproduction
image description
Факсимильное издание "Книжное наследие Франциска Скорины". Фото Р. Насибулина. БЕЛТА
Факсімільнае выданне "Кніжная спадчына Францыска Скарыны". Фота Р. Насібуліна. БЕЛТА
Facsimile edition of the "Francis Skaryna's Book Heritage". Photo by R. Nasibulin. BELTA

Literature

The origin of Belarusian literature begins from ancient times. It is inextricably connected with the oral and poetic folk art of Belarusians, which is considered one of the richest in the Slavic world. The origin of Belarusian literature is directly connected with the adoption of Christianity by Kievan Rus in 988 AD and the appearance of written language. The largest center of literacy was Polotsk where local chronicles were started in the 12th–13th centuries. The Belarusian theme sounds in the Russian Primary Chronicle and in The Tale of Igor’s Campaign — masterpieces of the ancient Eastern Slavic literature.

For further formation and development of the Belarusian literature in the 14th–15th centuries the unification of the Belarusian lands under the Grand Duchy of Lithuania where the Old Belarusian language became the official one, had major value. The Belarusian-Lithuanian chronicles became the achievement of the Belarusian historical prose of the 14th – 16th centuries.

The Statutes of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania of 1529, 1566 and 1588 are the most important monuments of Belarusian business writing and legal thought

The activity of the Belarusian first printer, humanist, educator, writer and translator Francysk Skaryna (ca. 1490 – ca. 1551) has had critical importance. In 1517 – 1519 he released in Prague 23 books of Bible in Old Belarusian language.

In 1562 in Nesvizh publicist and translator Symon Budny (ca. 1530–1593) published Catechism, the first book in the Old Belarusian language. The 16th – 17th centuries were marked by appearance of new genres of historical prose (memoirs, diaries, family chronicles, etc.), the development of poetry and polemic publicism. In the middle of the 17th century Simeon of Polotsk, Belarusian and Russian poet, playwright and enlightener, started his work.

Until the first half of the 19th century the Belarusian literature developed according to directions dominant in the Western Europe (Renaissance, Baroque).

In the first half of the 19th century Romantic movement began to influence the literature and contributed to its orientation to the living language and folklore. The most outstanding representative of this new direction was Polish and Belarusian poet Adam Mitskevich (1798–1855) who dedicated  one of his most significant works to the Belarusian land, the poem "Pan Tadeusz". The beginning of the literary activity of Vincent Dunin–Martsinkevich (1808–1884), who is considered to be the forefather of modern Belarusian literature, belongs to the same period.

The most considerable figure of the late 19th century was Franciszek Bohuszewicz (1840–1900), the first people′s and national Belarusian writer.

An important role in the development of Belarusian literature was played by the first legal Belarusian newspapers Nasha Dolya (Our Fate) and Nasha Niva (Our Field), around which the most famous authors of the period united: Yanka Kupala (1882–1942), Yakub Kolas (1882–1956), Eloisa Pashkevich (1876–1916), Maxim Bogdanovich (1891–1917), Zmitrok Byadulya (1886–1941), Maxim Goretsky (1893–1938), Kanstantsia Builo (1893–1986), Ales Garun (1887–1920) and others.

After the October Revolution of 1917 the ideas of national revival prevailed in the Belarusian literature. In the 1930s great pieces of drama, lyric and epic poetry were created by Vladislav Golubok (1882–1937), Mihas Charot (1896–1937), Vladimir Dubovka (1900–1976), Kondrat Krapiva (1896–1991), Pavluk Trus (1904–1929) and others.

During the World War II the genres of publicism and satire were especially popular. The most famous pieces of poetry are a collection of poems "The Iranian Diary" by Pimen Panchanka (1917–1995) and poem "Brigade Flag" by Arkady Kuleshov (1914–1978). The high-water mark of Belarusian wartime prose is the novels "The Milky Way", "The Search for the Future" and "The Great Day" by Kuzma Chorny.

The theme of the Great Patriotic War becomes a long–lasting dominant for Belarusian soviet literature: "Deep Streams" and "Restless Happiness" by Ivan Shamyakin (1921–2004), "Unforgettable Days" by Mihas Lynkov (1899–1975), "The Khatyn Story" and "Chasteners" by Ales Adamovich (1927–1994), "Tartak" and "Neidorf" by Ivan Ptashnikov (born 1932), Pine Tree by the Road by Ivan Naumenko (1925–2006), poem "Blockade" by Ryhor Baradulin (1935–2014), etc. Among the authors of novels about World War II Vasil Bykov (1924–2003) occupies a very special place; he wrote novels "The Dead Feel no Pain", "Sotnikov", "Sign of Misfortune" and others. Apart from the war theme, Belarusian prose described life in Belarusian villages: "Polesye Chronicle" by Ivan Melezh (1921–1976), "Nizhnije Bajduni" by Yanka Bryl (1917–2006), works by Vyacheslav Adamchik (1933–2001), Mihas Streltsov (1937–1987). The most prominent representative of historical genre is Vladimir Korotkevich (1930–1984), the author of such literary pieces as "Hoary Legend", "King Stakh′s Wild Hunt", "Ears Under Your Sickle" and many others.

In 1950s–1970s a lot of distinctive personalities came to Belarusian poetry, including Ryhor Baradulin, Gennady Buravkin (1936–2014), Oleg Lojko (1931–2008), Nil Gilevich (born in 1931), Eugenia Yanischits (1948–1988), Sergey Zakonnikov (1946–2016), Ales Ryazanov (born in 1947) and others. The prose was enriched with the works by Victor Kozko (born in 1940), Ales Zhuk (born in 1947), Vasily Gigevich (born in 1947), Genrikh Dalidovich (born in 1946). The most significant names of the Belarusian drama of this period are Andrey Makajenok (1920–1982), Vladimir Butromeev (born in 1953), Alexey Dudarev (born in 1950), Elena Popova (born in 1947), Georgy Marchuk (born in 1947), Matukovsky Nicolay  and others.

The modern Belarusian literature is characterized by harmonious combination of traditionalist and post-modern tendencies. Genre, stylistic, problem-thematic searches have noticeably expanded. Patriotic motives have appeared. The idea of national sovereignty became the pivot of many literary works: prose of Andrey Fedorenko (born in 1964), Ales Astashonok (1954–2004), Galina Bogdanova (born in 1961), Adam Globus (born in 1958), Leonid Dranko-Majsuk (born in 1957), Anatoly Kozlov (born in 1962), Vladislav Rubanov (1952–1994), Ludmila Rublevskaya (born in 1965), Jury Stankevich (born in 1945), Vladimir Stepan (born in 1958), Vladimir Yagovdik (born in 1956) and others. Among the most prominent contemporary Belarusian poets are Irina Bogdanovich (born in 1956), Ales Badak (born in 1966), Olga Ipatova (born in 1945), Ales Pismenkov (1957–2004), Eduard Akulin (born in 1963), Slavomir Adamovich (born in 1962) and others.

The works of Belarusian literature are translated in many languages, including all European ones.

In 2015 the Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded to the Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich (born in 1948) "for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time". Many of her writings have been translated into more than 30 languages and published in different countries.

The Day of Belarusian Written Language is an annual holiday. The holiday is intended to demonstrate the unity of the Belarusian written word and the history and culture of the Belarusian people, and to show the development of the written language and book publishing in Belarus.

Useful links

Audiokollekciya literaturnoj klassiki i sovremennoj prozy Belarusi (Audio collection of literary classics and modern prose of Belarus)

Belorusskij gosudarstvenny'j arxiv-muzej literatury' i iskusstva (Belarusian State Archive-Museum of Literature and Art) 

Gosudarstvenny'j literaturno-memorial'y'j muzej Yakuba Kolasa (Yakub Kolas Memorial Literary Museum)

Gosudarstvenny'j literaturny'j muzej Yanki Kupaly' (State Literary Museum of Yanka Kupala)

Gosudarstvenny'j muzej istorii belorusskoj literatury' (State Museum of History of Belarusian Literature)

Literaturny'j muzej Maksima Bogdanovicha (Maxim Bogdanovich Literary Museum)

Nacyyanal'naya litaraturnaya premiya (National Literary Prize)

Yanka Kupala and Yakub Kolas – classics of the world literature

Links to resources of publishing houses

Izdatel'stvo «Belarus'» (The publishing house "Belarus")     

Izdatel'stvo «Belorusskaya e'nciklopediya imeni P. Brovki» (The publishing house "Belarusian Encyclopedia named after P. Brovka")

Izdatel'stvo «Mastackaya lіtaratura» (The publishing house "Mastatskaya Litaratura")

Izdatel'stvo «Narodnaya asveta» (The publishing house "Narodnaya Asveta")

Закрыть
image description
Белорусский писатель Владимир Семенович Короткевич. Фото В. Ждановича. БЕЛТА
Беларускі пісьменнік Уладзімір Сямёнавіч Караткевіч. Фота В. Ждановіча.. БЕЛТА
Belarusian writer Vladimir Semenovich Korotkevich. Photo by V. Zhdanovich. BELTA
image description
Народный поэт Беларуси Максим Танк. Фото В. Лупейко. БЕЛТА
Народны паэт Беларусі Максім Танк. Фота У. Лупейкі. БЕЛТА
People's poet of Belarus Maxim Tank. Photo by V. Lupeyko. BELTA
image description
Народный писатель Беларуси Иван Шамякин. Фото М. Иванова. БЕЛТА
Народны пісьменнік Беларусі Іван Шамякін. Фота М. Іванова. БЕЛТА
People's Writer of Belarus Ivan Shamyakin. Photo by M. Ivanov. BELTA
image description
Народный писатель Беларуси Кондрат Крапива. Фото В. Лупейко. БЕЛТА
Народны пісьменнік Беларусі Кандрат Крапіва. Фота У. Лупейкі. БЕЛТА
People's Writer of Belarus Kondrat Krapiva. Photo by V. Lupeyko. BELTA
image description
Народный писатель Беларуси Василь Быков. Фото В. Шубы. БЕЛТА
Народны пісьменнік Беларусі Васіль Быкаў. Фота У. Шубы. БЕЛТА
People's Writer of Belarus Vasil Bykov. Photo by V. Shuba. BELTA
image description
Белорусский писатель Франтишек Богушевич. Фоторепродукция БЕЛТА
Беларускі пісьменнік Францішак Багушэвіч. Фотарэпрадукцыя БЕЛТА
Belarusian writer Frantisek Bogushevich. BELTA photo reproduction
image description
Народный поэт Беларуси Якуб Колас. Фото Р. Королева. БЕЛТА
Народны паэт Беларусі Якуб Колас. Фота Р. Каралёва. БЕЛТА
National poet of Belarus Yakub Kolas. Photo by R. Korolev. BELTA
image description
Народный поэт Беларуси Янка Купала. Фоторепродукция БЕЛТА
Народны паэт Беларусі Янка Купала. Фотарэпрадукцыя БЕЛТА
People's poet of Belarus Yanka Kupala. BELTA photo reproduction
image description
Факсимильное издание "Книжное наследие Франциска Скорины". Фото Р. Насибулина. БЕЛТА
Факсімільнае выданне "Кніжная спадчына Францыска Скарыны". Фота Р. Насібуліна. БЕЛТА
Facsimile edition of the "Francis Skaryna's Book Heritage". Photo by R. Nasibulin. BELTA

Литература

Истоки белорусской литературы лежат в глубокой древности. Она неразрывно связана с устно-поэтическим народным творчеством белорусов, которое считается одним из богатейших в славянском мире. Зарождение литературы на белорусских землях непосредственно связано с принятием в 988 г. Киевской Русью христианства и появлением письменности. Крупным центром распространения письменности становится Полоцк, где в ХII–XIII вв. зарождается местное летописание. Белорусская (Полоцкая) тема звучит в летописи «Повесть временных лет» и в «Слове о полку Игореве» – шедеврах древней восточнославянской литературы.

Для дальнейшего становления и развития белорусской литературы в XIV–XV вв. важнейшее значение имело объединение белорусских земель в Великом Княжестве Литовском, в котором старобелорусский язык приобрел статус государственного. Достижением белорусской исторической прозы XIV–XVI вв. стало белорусско-литовское летописание.

Важнейшим памятником белорусской деловой письменности и правовой мысли стали Статуты Великого Княжества Литовского 1529, 1566 и 1588 гг.

Исключительное значение имела деятельность белорусского гуманиста-просветителя, основателя восточнославянского книгопечатания, писателя и переводчика Франциска Скорины (около 1490 – около 1551).

Скорина перевел на язык, который был близок языку древней белорусской письменности, а в 1517–1519 гг. прокомментировал и издал в Праге 23 книги Библии.

Первую печатную книгу на старобелорусском языке на территории современной Беларуси издал известный деятель европейской Реформации, публицист и переводчик Сымон Будный (около 1530–1593) («Катехизис», 1562 г.; Несвиж). В XVI–XVII вв. в белорусской литературе появились новые жанры исторической прозы (мемуары, дневники, семейные хроники и т.д.), большого развития достигли поэзия и полемическая публицистика. В середине XVII в. начал свою деятельность белорусско-русский поэт, драматург и просветитель Симеон Полоцкий (1629–1680).

Белорусская литература вплоть до 1-й половины XIХ в. развивалась в русле тех направлений, которые были господствующими в Западной Европе (ренессанс, барокко).

В 1-й половине XIХ в. в литературе проявляются черты романтизма, которые содействовали ее ориентации на живой язык и фольклор. Самым ярким представителем этого нового направления был великий польский и белорусский поэт Адам Мицкевич (1798–1855), который посвятил белорусской земле (Адам Мицкевич родился на Новогрудчине) одно из самых значительных своих произведений – поэму «Пан Тадеуш». К этому же времени относится начало литературной деятельности Винцента Дунина-Марцинкевича (1808–1884), которого считают родоначальником современной белорусской литературы.

Наиболее значительной личностью последней трети XIХ в. является Франтишек Богушевич (1840–1900), по существу первый народный и национальный писатель.

Важную роль в развитии белорусской литературы сыграли первые белорусские газеты «Наша доля» и особенно «Наша ніва», вокруг которой объединились Янка Купала (1882–1942), Якуб Колас (1882–1956), Алоиза Пашкевич (1876–1916), Максим Богданович (1891–1917), Змитрок Бядуля (1886–1941), Максим Горецкий (1893–1938), Констанция Буйло (1893–1986), Алесь Гарун (1887–1920) и др. Этапным явлением стали проникнутые национальной идеей сборники Алоизы Пашкевич «Скрипка белорусская» и «Крещение свободой»; Янки Купалы «Жалейка», «Гусляр» и «Дорогой жизни», его романтические и драматические поэмы, пьесы «Павлинка» и «Разоренное гнездо»; сборники Якуба Коласа «Песни-печали», «Рассказы», «Родные образы»; поэтический сборник Максима Богдановича «Венок». Яркие страницы в историю белорусской прозы этого периода вписали также Максим Горецкий и Змитрок Бядуля.

После Октябрьской революции 1917 г. в белорусской литературе доминировала национально-возрожденческая проблематика, общей задачей авторов было стремление помочь самоидентификации белорусов.

В 1930-е гг. свободная поступь литературного процесса была искусственно прервана идеологическим диктатом. Тем не менее, прекрасные лирические, эпические, драматические произведения смогли создать Владислав Голубок (1882–1937), Михась Чарот (1896–1937), Владимир Дубовка (1900–1976), Кондрат Крапива (1896–1991), Павлюк Трус (1904–1929) и др.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны особенно актуальными были художественная публицистика и сатира. Самые значительные достижения в поэзии – цикл Пимена Панченко (1917–1995) «Иранский дневник», поэма Аркадия Кулешова (1914–1978) «Знамя бригады». Вершина белорусской прозы военных лет – романы Кузьмы Чорного (1900–1944) «Млечный путь», «Поиски будущего», «Большой день».

Для белорусской советской литературы на долгое время определяющей становится тема войны: прозаические произведения Ивана Шамякина (1921–2004) «Глубокое течение» и «Тревожное счастье», Михася Лынькова (1899–1975) «Незабываемые дни», Алеся Адамовича (1927–1994) «Хатынская повесть» и «Каратели», Ивана Пташникова (1932–2016) «Тартак», «Найдорф», Ивана Науменко (1925–2006) «Сосна при дороге», поэма Рыгора Бородулина (1935–2014) «Блокада» и др. Особенно значительно в этом отношении творчество Василя Быкова (1924–2003) – повести «Мертвым не больно», «Сотников», «Круглянский мост», «Знак беды» и др. Кроме военной тематики белорусская проза отражала проблемы жизни белорусской деревни – «Полесская хроника» Ивана Мележа (1921–1976), «Нижние Байдуны» Янки Брыля (1917–2006), произведения Вячеслава Адамчика (1933–2001), Михася Стрельцова (1937–1987). Активизируется исторический жанр. Самым ярким его представителем является Владимир Короткевич (1930–1984) – автор повестей «Седая легенда», «Дикая охота короля Стаха», романа «Колосья под серпом твоим» и многих других.

В середине 1950–1970-х гг. в белорусскую поэзию пришло много ярких творческих индивидуальностей, среди которых Рыгор Бородулин, Геннадий Буравкин (1936–2014), Олег Лойко (1931–2008), Нил Гилевич (1931–2016), Евгения Янищиц (1948–1988), Сергей Законников (род. 1946), Алесь Рязанов (род. 1947) и др. Проза пополнилась произведениями Виктора Козько (род. 1940), Алеся Жука (род. 1947), Василя Гигевича (род. 1947), Генриха Далидовича (род. 1946) и др. Самые значительные имена белорусской драматургии этого периода – Андрей Макаёнок (1920–1982), Владимир Бутромеев (род. 1953), Алексей Дударев (род. 1950), Елена Попова (род. 1947), Георгий Марчук (род. 1947), Николай Матуковский (1929–2001).

Современная белорусская литература характеризуется гармоническим сочетанием традиционалистских и постмодернистских течений. Заметно расширились жанровые, стилистические, проблемно-тематические поиски. Остро зазвучали патриотические мотивы. Смысловым центром многих произведений стала идея национального суверенитета. Такой является проза Андрея Федоренко (род. 1964), Алеся Асташонка (1954–2004), Галины Богдановой (род. 1961), Адама Глобуса (род. 1958), Леонида Дранько-Майсюка (род. 1957), Анатоля Козлова (род. 1962), Владислава Рубанова (1952–1994), Людмилы Рублевской (род. 1965), Юрия Станкевича (род. 1945), Владимира Степана (род. 1958), Владимира Яговдика (род. 1956) и др. В современную белорусскую поэзию наибольший вклад внесли Ирина Богданович (род. 1956), Алесь Бадак (род. 1966), Ольга Ипатова (род. 1945), Алесь Письменков (1957–2004), Эдуард Акулин (род. 1963), Славомир Адамович (род. 1962) и др.

Произведения белорусской литературы переведены на языки многих народов мира, в том числе на все европейские.

В 2015 г. белорусская писательница Светлана Алексиевич (род. 1948) стала лауреатом Нобелевской премии по литературе «за ее многоголосное творчество – памятник страданию и мужеству в наше время». Многие ее произведения переведены и изданы более чем на 30-ти языках мира.

Ежегодно в стране проводится День белорусской письменности. Концепция праздника предусматривает отражение исторического пути письменности и печати в Беларуси, а также развитие белорусской литературы и культуры на современном этапе.

Ссылки на интернет-ресурсы

Белорусский  государственный архив-музей литературы и искусства

Государственный литературно-мемориальный музей Якуба Коласа

Государственный литературный музей Янки Купалы

Государственный музей истории белорусской литературы

Классики мировой литературы Янка Купала и Якуб Колас

Литературный музей Максима Богдановича

Ссылки на ресурсы издательств

Издательство «Беларусь»

Издательство «Белорусская энциклопедия им. П. Бровки»

Издательство «Звезда»

Издательство «Мастацкая літаратура»

Издательство «Народная асвета»